Terry Miller named to 2022 College Football Hall of Fame


STILL WATER –Former Oklahoma state running back Terry Miller is one of 18 players named to the 2022 College Football Hall of Fame class of 2022, the National Football Foundation and the National Football Foundation announced on Monday. University Hall of Fame.

A two-time All-American, Miller was second in the 1977 Heisman Trophy vote and fourth in 1976. Only 23 running backs in college football history have recorded two top-four Heisman rankings, and with the selection of Miller, all 23 are now in the College Football Hall of Fame.

During his college career, Miller played 43 games, totaling 871 carries for 4,754 rushing yards, 49 rushing yards, 5.5 yards per carry and 110.6 rushing yards per game. He is still the only player in OSU history to end his career with three seasons of 1,000-yard running, and he was fourth in career NCAA history after his last season.

Miller led the Big Eight in the race as a junior and senior, won the Big Eight Offensive Player of the Year in those two seasons and is one of only three Big Eight players with more than 4 000 yards rushing in career. The other two (Mike Rozier of Nebraska and Thurman Thomas of Oklahoma State) are both members of the College Football Hall of Fame.

In the OSU record books, Miller is second in both ground races (behind Thomas) and touchdowns (behind 1988 Heisman winner Barry Sanders). His junior and senior running campaigns rank No.3 and No.6 in OSU history and his jersey number 43 is one of four numbers no longer in use in the State of the ‘Oklahoma. He also still holds the Cowboy records for most career 100-yard games with 26 and most consecutive 100-yard games with 19.

From a team perspective, Miller helped coach Jim Stanley to become 1974 Fiesta Bowl Champions, 1976 Big Eight Champions and 1976 Tangerine Bowl Champions, winning 27 games during his playing career. .

As a professional, Miller was selected in the first round by the Buffalo Bills with the fifth overall pick in the 1978 NFL Draft. He replaced OJ Simpson as the Bills’ starting backer and ran 1,060 yards during his rookie season. He played for the Bills from 1978 to 1980 and ended his career with a one-year stint in Seattle in 1981.

Miller graduated from the state of Oklahoma in 1978 with a degree in business administration and followed his football career as an independent professional in sales and marketing before retiring. He is married to Dr. Nancy Gay Washington Miller and has three children.

Now a resident of Stillwater, Oklahoma, Miller has been active in the community, volunteering and serving with many organizations and nonprofits including FCA, First Christian Church, the Oklahoma WONDERtorium Children’s Museum, Mission of Hope and Payne County Youth Services.

The state of Oklahoma now has seven representatives in the College Football Hall of Fame – Coach Lynn “Pappy” Waldorf (inducted 1966), Bob Fenimore (inducted 1972), Barry Sanders (inducted 2003), Thurman Thomas (inducted 2008), coach Jimmy Johnson (inducted 2012), Leslie O’Neal (inducted 2020 class) and Miller.

The 18 All-America First Team players and the three coaches of the 2022 College Football Hall of Fame Class of Fame were selected from the national vote of 78 players and seven FBS coaches, the 99 players and 33 coaches of the divisional ranks and veterans of the NFF. committee candidates.

The class will be officially inducted at the 64th Annual NFF Awards Dinner on December 6 at a location to be determined. Inductees will also be recognized at their respective college institutions with salutes on the NFF Hall of Fame campus during the fall. Their accomplishments will be forever immortalized at the Chick-fil-A College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, and each inductee will receive a personalized ring.

Of the 5.4 million people who have played college football since Princeton first faced Rutgers on November 6, 1869, less than two hundredths of a percent (0.02%) have been inducted into the Hall of Fame college football.

Comments are closed.